Organisation Steering Committee

Steering Committee


Structure of Steering Committee until 31st December 2018.



1st Co-Chair:  Dr. David B. Smith, United States Geological Survey (retired) [E-mail:]

2nd Co-Chair:  Dr. Xueqiu Wang, Institute of Geophysical and Geochemical Exploration, China & UNESCO International Centre on Global-Scale Geochemistry [Email:]

Scientific Secretary:  Dr. Patrice de Caritat, Geoscience Australia [E-mail:]

Treasurer:   EurGeol Alecos Demetriades, Hellenic Institute of Geology and Mineral Exploration (retired) [E-mail:]

Public Relations and Finance:  Dr. Ariadne Argyraki, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens [E-mail:]


The following interim structure of the Steering Committee shall come into effect from the 1st of March 2019 in order to have a smooth transition to the new structure that will come into effect from March 2020 following the ratification by the IUGS Council:


ChairpersonDr. David Smith

Assistant ChairpersonDr. Kate Knights

Deputy ChairpersonDr. Xueqiu Wang

Assistant Deputy ChairpersonMs. Gloria Simubali

Scientific SecretaryDr. Patrice de Caritat

Assistant Scientific Secretary:  to be named

TreasurerEurGeol Alecos Demetriades

Assistant TreasurerAssist. Prof. Christina Stouraiti

Public Relations and FinanceAssist. Prof. Ariadne Argyraki